Birthday gift

Last week was my father’s birthday and as usual, we were hit full force with the ohmyGodwhatarewegoingtogethim…. I knew I wanted to make something for him but had a chronic lack of inspiration.  This morning, I surfed on a few websites and was struck again by the dreamy look of white encaustic paint.

Here is my own take on it: vintage papers on strong cardboard, mod podge transfer of a photo, more mod podge, a white wash or two, lots of beeswax and my twist on encaustic paint, beeswax with oil pastel shavings.

I hope my father likes it…if he doesn’t, I’ll steal it back for myself!   And I’ll be making more of these in the future.  That’s for sure!  Only potential glitch: I didn’t use any resin, only pure beeswax…here’s hoping for a cool summer!!!

Thank you for your visit.

Photo courtesy of Kenn W. Kiser

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

La semaine dernière, c’était l’anniversaire de mon père et comme d’habitude,  l’éternelle question “maisqu’estcequ’onvabienpouvoirluiprendre” s’est posée à nous.  J’avais envie de lui fabriquer quelque chose mais aucune inspiration.  Ce matin, je me suis promenée sur quelques sites et j’ai été frappée à nouveau par le côté irréel et éthéré de la peinture à l’encaustique blanche.

Voici ma version: de vieux papiers sur du carton fort, un transfer de photo au gel, encore du gel, une ou deux couches de lavis blanc, beaucoup de cire d’abeille et ma version de la peinture encaustique: de la cire d’abeille avec des copeaux de pastel gras.

J’espère que mon père aimera…sinon, je le récupèrerai pour moi!  Et j’en ferai encore d’autres d’ici peu, c’est certain.  Le seul souci, c’est que je n’ai pas utilisé de résine, juste de la cire….j’espère que les températures estivales seront clémentes!!!

Merci de votre visite!

Photo par Kenn W. Kiser

2 thoughts on “Birthday gift

Leave a Reply

