Cutting my losses

This painting wasn’t supposed to turn out like this originally.  I started on a much larger piece of paper, stamped bicarbonated gesso around it, did a few transfers and this is when things started going wrong.  I made a few attempts at salvaging it, painting, gluing, inking and adding but it just wasn’t working.  Last Sunday, I decided to cut my losses and chopped up the piece of paper into 4.  This one is my favorite of the lot.  It needed little work so I added the picture, some beeswax and the words.  Salvaging the three other pieces will be less easy so I am leaving them aside for the moment…

mixed media     mixed media

Cette peinture n’était pas censée ressembler à ça.  Je l’ai démarrée sur une feuille beaucoup plus large, tamponné du gesso+bicarbonate autour et fait quelques transfers d’images.  C’est là que les choses ont commencé à mal tourner.  J’ai fait quelques tentatives pour récupérer le tout, peint, collé, encré et rajouté ci et ça mais ça ne fonctionnait toujours pas…Dimanche dernier, j’ai décidé de laisser tomber.  J’ai coupé ma feuille en 4 morceaux.  Celui ci est mon préféré.  Il n’avait pas besoin de grand chose alors j’ai juste ajouté l’image, un peu de cire d’abeille, et les mots.  Transformer les autres morceaux ne sera pas aussi facile.  Pour l’instant, je les laisse de côté.

 

3 thoughts on “Cutting my losses

  1. Thank you Susan. I only used beeswax on the left hand side of this one. The texture on the right is the famous gesso+bicarbonate mixture. But yes, beeswax is definitely worth a look. It stamps well, smells delicious and gives pictures a dreamy look. You can tell I’m hooked! 🙂

Leave a Reply

